School Logo

Lapworth Church of England Primary School

Interactive Bar

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



Curriculum Overview

Information about each individual subject area can be found on the Curriculum page under the 'About Us' tab
Lapworth Church of England Primary School Curriculum
Early Years Foundation Stage
At Lapworth School we follow the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage in Reception.  The covers the seven areas of learning and development that shapes the educational programme in early years settings.  All areas of learning are important and interconnected.  Three areas are crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.  The three prime areas are:
Communication and language
Physical development
Personal, social and emotional development

The curriculum must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.  These are:
Understanding the world
Expressive arts and design

The Early Years Foundation Profile is the summative assessment of the foundation stage and provides a well-rounded picture of a child's knowledge and understanding and abilities, their progress against expected levels and their readiness for Year 1 where they will be taught the National Curriculum.
Years 1-6
National Curriculum
1.1       Every state-funded school must offer a curriculum which is balanced and broadly based* and which
  • promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society
  • prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life


1.2       The school curriculum comprises all learning and other experiences that each school plans for its pupils. The national curriculum forms one part of the school curriculum.

1.3       All state schools are also required to make provision for a daily act of collective worship and must teach religious education to pupils at every key stage and sex and relationship education to pupils in secondary education.

1.4       Maintained schools in England are legally required to follow the statutory national curriculum which sets out in programmes of study, on the basis of key stages, subject content for those subjects that should be taught to all pupils.

1.5       All schools should make provision for personal, social, health and economic education (PSHE), drawing on good practice. Schools are also free to include other subjects or topics of their choice in planning and designing their own programme of education.

*Section 78 of the 2002 Education Act



1.1       The National Curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said, and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.

1.2       The National Curriculum is just one element in the education of every child. There is time and space in the school day and in each week, term and year to range beyond the national curriculum specifications. The national curriculum provides an outline of core knowledge around which teachers can develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote the development of pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum.

1.1       Pupils of compulsory school age in community and foundation schools, including community special schools and foundation special schools, and in voluntary-aided and voluntary-controlled schools, must follow the national curriculum. It is organised on the basis of 4 key stages and 12 subjects, classified in legal terms as ‘core’ and ‘other foundation’ subjects.

1.2       The Secretary of State for Education is required to publish programmes of study for each national curriculum subject, setting out the ‘matters, skills and processes’ to be taught at each key stage. Schools are free to choose how they organise their school day, as long as the content of the national curriculum programmes of study is taught to all pupils.

At Lapworth Church of England Primary School we organise our Year 1 - 6 pupils into seven classes, one for each year group.

For further subject specific information please click on this link:

Learning without limits nurtured by Christian Values